About Us

Home   About Us


We are a voluntary, inclusive group of concerned citizens working to make cycling in Winnipeg a safe, enjoyable, accessible and convenient transportation choice year-round.


We envision a city where cycling is embraced as the preferred mode of transportation, where cycling is integrated into urban design and planning, and where Winnipeg is recognized as a leader in cycling infrastructure and programs.

Bike Winnipeg was incorporated as a non-profit organization in February 2007 under the name Bike to the Future.  In April 2013, we voted to change our name to Bike Winnipeg.


After the intense focus on cycling in Winnipeg throughout the summer of 2006, a group of cyclists organized a forum entitled Bike to the Future, which was held at the University of Winnipeg on September 20th, 2006. Over 100 cyclists came together to discuss their vision for cycling in Winnipeg and to share their ideas about what is needed to make cycling better and safer in our city.

more history…

Board and Members

The Bike Winnipeg board is selected by election at the Annual General Meeting held in the spring each year.

Current Board of Directors

Co-Chair: Kaye Grant
Based in Winnipeg, Kaye is the key Consultant with Reconnaissance Management ConsultingGroup Inc. and is also the Communications Manager for the Canadian Worker Co-operative Federation (CWCF), a national, bilingual grassroots membership organization that supports the growth and development of worker co-operatives. Kaye has worked for over 20 years within the non-profit/social enterprise sector in a number of roles. Kaye’s experience in working with the non-profit sector and local community groups enables her to maintain working relationships within the community. Kaye has been on the Board of Bike Winnipeg for the past six years and also sits on the boards of CCEDNET and the Manitoba Co-op Association. She has been an avid supporter of active transportation for many years.

Co-Chair: Philip Mikulec

Secretary: Misty Bromley
Misty Bromley, CPA, CGA, joined Bike Winnipeg’s board in 2017 and quickly began serving the Board as Secretary.  Misty works in the construction industry and bikes nearly all year.  She’s interested in making cycling as safe and accessible as possible. 

Director: Ian Walker

Director: Kailey Kroeker
Kailey Kroeker, B.Env.D. M.Arch., joined Bike Winnipeg’s board in 2016. She has been serving on the Membership/Fundraising committee and in 2017 became Chair of the committee. Kailey is an architectural intern at 1×1 architecture and is passionate about using design to create urban environments that make everyone’s lives better. She also just loves biking (and not while wearing lycra).

Director: Elizabeth Shearer
Liz works full time at Green Action Centre as the Commuter Challenge coordinator and is determined to get even more people biking more often (and busing, walking, carpooling) especially during the annual week-long event! Since graduating with a degree in Environmental Studies from the University of Winnipeg in 2014 she has lead several major projects in both the environmental and arts sectors working with Green Action Centre, the David Suzuki Foundation and Manitobans for the Arts. Liz is also the volunteer organizer the annual CycloFemme ride in Winnipeg; an annual Mothers’ Day group bike ride that celebrates women in cycling.

Director: Kevin Parsons
Born and raise in Winnipeg, Kevin learned to ride a bike when he was young, but it wasn’t until a few years ago that he took it up as his primary mode of transportation. Now he’s a year-round bike rider (yes one of the crazy ones in the winter) and thinks that everyone should try the same! When he’s not on his bike he’s likely working, playing team sports, running (summer), skiing (winter) and/or spending time with family and friends.

Director: Brittany Curtis

Director: Zach Fliesher
Zach Fleisher is a policy and communications professional based in Winnipeg, Manitoba, on Treaty 1 territory. He currently works as the Director of Communications for the Amalgamated Transit Union 1505, handling all communications, research and community outreach for the union. His writing has appeared in the Winnipeg Free Press, CBC Manitoba, the Manitoban and the Uniter. He believes in a city where people are afforded transportation options, for every person and for every season. He spends his free time on the Board of Bike Winnipeg and praying that he’ll see the day when the Assiniboine bike path will be fully open and unobstructed. 

Director: Clayton Rudy
Clayton has lived and commuter-cycled in Saskatoon, Edmonton, and Toronto, and has recently moved to Winnipeg.  He is a member of Cycle Toronto’s Advocacy Committee and has volunteered for various Cycle Toronto programs and events.  Clayton is a road safety engineer and volunteers on several committees of the Transportation Association of Canada, which is responsible for publishing national planning and design guidelines for cycling infrastructure (e.g. the 2017 Geometric Design Guide for Canadian Roads).  Outside of work and cycling, Clayton plays bass and guitar in whatever local band he can find.

Executive Director: Mark Cohoe

Bike Winnipeg By-Laws

Bike Winnipeg By-Laws (as amended November 7, 2015)